Thursday, August 19, 2010

Facebook Places - Here we go again...

Seems yet again Facebook has released a new privacy invading feature Facebook Places. Though I do have to give some credit, for the first time they actually limited it to Friends Only, and did disable one part of it by default, here is how to disable/hide the new Facebook Places features completely to maintain your privacy.


1. Login to your Facebook account

2. At the top right select Account -> Privacy Settings

While better that Everyone, "Places" is still enabled for Friends


3. Select Customize settings near the bottom

4. Scroll down till you see Places I check in - change accordingly (lock down to only me or say certain trusted friends - read: not the 500 people you added for Mafia Wars) - you'll also want to leave Include me in "People Here Now" after I check in unchecked.
Only Me is the safest, you decide who you want to share with

5. Further down you will see Friends can check me in to Places - by default it's set to Select one this sounds a bit too vague to me, given Zuckerburg's history with protecting my privacy, I'll go ahead and change this to disabled.
I don't think so...

There you go, all done, and hopefully safe until the next sneaky, notice-less Facebook update or release.

No comments:

Post a Comment