Monday, November 14, 2016

38 days without Facebook or: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Real Life

So on October 1st, 2016 I did the unthinkable, I left Facebook. Not just left, I posted an epic goodbye and archived all my digital life with the intention of disabling Facebook never to return.

(ok in my own addicted mind I thought it was epic goodbye, hell it even had a kitten waving goodbye!)
It's Not You Facebook, it's Me, We've just grown apart
I made the decision on 9/31, angry about some family drama, over what I can't even remember anymore, honestly I can't, I think something about blocking someone who was annoying me or some such non-sense, again not that important to the overall story, other to bring attention to the fact that I became so focused on what people did/said on Facebook that my response was to block said person rather than discuss/deal with the issue like I would in real life. How egotistical, self centered, and downright douchbaggy was I? I mean, that was my response, you said/did something that made me mad, I block you, like a president elect hosting a reality TV show, my response was to sit in my Smug Computer Chair and say "I block you".

Monday, November 7, 2016

Naughty Nvidia is installing tracking software without your knowledge...

2016-11-18 Update: The Game Ready Driver 375.86 left these items disabled when doing a custom update via GeForce Experience, doing an Express Install re-enabled the tasks.

2016-11-11 Update: So I just had a GeForce Experience update roll though (3.1.0.52) which re-enabled all of the telemetry tasks. So I can confirm that GeForce Experience Updates will also require you to follow the steps here to disable.

End Updates

So put on your tinfoil hats ladies and gentlemen, thanks to a Reddit post over the weekend, it appears we now have learned that Nvidia is installing telemetry processes (aka tracking) in it's latest drivers, this is without your permission or knowledge, and even a custom install doesn't allow for the option to be removed/disabled.


This appears to be added to every Nvidia user as of 375.70 version of the drivers, though it may have been collecting since 368.25 if you had GeForce Experience 3.x installed. *yikes*


Now from what I've seen in my limited capture tests the data being sent doesn't appear to be anything personally identifiable, but as we already know thanks to Snowden revelations, just because the company that creates the tracker doesn't mean you any ill will doesn't mean others aren't interested in using telemetry data for their own nefarious purposes.


While the beacon of Gaming Journalistic Integrity (tm), PC Gamer has quickly ran to Nvidia's defense (and given their Geforce Software a 99 score, not really, but it sounds funny) I'll leave it up to you to decide if you want to disable the software just to be safe.


Expand this post to learn how to disable.


Wednesday, July 20, 2011

Hello Blogger!

Well after an off again on again 2 week long hassle I've finally moved my blog over here to Blogger.

No more Drupal updates every week, just nice and easy blog platform.

All the Gremlins should be properly starved and locked away from the water, but if you find any problems leave a comment below!

Friday, July 8, 2011

Google Pictures (Picasa) and Google+

Great news for those of us who have been playing with Google+ recently - it appears that the Picasa Web Storage has gotten a huge bump as a result of Google+ membership!

I always liked Picasa (soon to be re-branded to just Google Pictures) but was never keen on the 1gb limit without dropping annual cash, now it appears us Google+ users get nearly unlmited space:

If you've signed up for Google+
Free storage limits
Photos up to 2048 x 2048 pixels and videos up to 15 minutes won't count towards your free storage.

Automatic resizing
All photos uploaded in Google+ will be automatically resized to 2048 pixels (on their longest edge) and won't count towards your free storage quota.


All photos uploaded to Picasa Web Albums over the free size limit will count towards your 1 GB of free storage. When you reach your storage limit, any new photos you upload to Picasa Web larger than the free size limit will be automatically resized to 2048 pixels (on their longest edge).
source: http://picasa.google.com/support/bin/answer.py?answer=1224181

Thursday, August 19, 2010

Facebook Places - Here we go again...

Seems yet again Facebook has released a new privacy invading feature Facebook Places. Though I do have to give some credit, for the first time they actually limited it to Friends Only, and did disable one part of it by default, here is how to disable/hide the new Facebook Places features completely to maintain your privacy.


1. Login to your Facebook account

2. At the top right select Account -> Privacy Settings

While better that Everyone, "Places" is still enabled for Friends

Tuesday, July 13, 2010

Ignoring the Java version during Citrix Installs/Patches

I frequently get asked How can I install the latest Citrix Hotfix rollup (or Citrix itself) while keeping a specific version of Java on my server. For those of us with that server that for some crazy application reason can not move to Java 1.6 but you still need to install the latest Hotfix rollup that requires 1.6uXX you can get past this with a really quick fix.

msiexec /update PSE450w2k3x64R06.msp CTX_USE_EXISTING_JRE=YES

The CTX_USE_EXISTING_JRE=Yes will ignore the install stopping Java check that forces you to use a certain version (that seems to always change).

The only thing to note is that on 4.5/5.0 you will likely lose the ability to use the XenApp Advanced Configuration tool (formally the CMC) on this server, so you'll want to make sure you have at least one server that is updated to the latest Java required for the latest HFR patch (like your dedicated Data Collector I know we all have right?) - otherwise you won't have access to the handful of items still in the older Java based CMC tool.

Sometimes disabling the Java check is needed, and by adding this switch you can remove the Java requirement for any Citrix patch, hotfix, hotfix rollup or even the Citrix install itself with only a small loss of functionality to the CMC tool

Thursday, May 20, 2010

Disabling Facebook Connect on Non-Facebook Websites

** Updated 7/19 - improved code after re-reading the ABPlus guide thanks to a user comment from Mr. Palant - also added Chrome code from reader tips**


Important, if you find a site where this does not work please include the URL in a comment below - as sites get tricky the code may need to be adapted or new blocks created

For reasons I won't get into in this post I'm very discouraged by the recent Facebook Connect changes that have, without my approval, spread my Facebook persona across various websites that personally I don't want integrated with Facebook. Some examples are the Gawker Media Sites, techcrunch or money.cnn.com - I've recently started seeing little things like this all over sites: 

As seen from money.cnn.com

Here is how to disable Facebook Connect completely